Guess This Is Goodbye

Well, I gotta say one thing: J2150 has been one hell of a course.

Coming into this, I really thought I could just get away with the video skills I’ve obtained over this past year. Little did I know that I was going to expand my journalistic abilities to much more than that. I now know how to edit audio better than ever before, as well as actually know how to set up a great photo.

In addition to what I’ve learned, I will simply never forget some of the stories I got to watch as well. Ones that really stuck out to me were The Marlboro Man as well as the one about the Seltzer man. Both were true works of art that really took a great deal of skill and deft storytelling.

But I’d like to take this moment to thank my instructor, Shane Epping. Shane is an extremely talented photographer employed here at Mizzou, and out of any journalism instructor I’ve had, I have enjoyed him the most.

What makes Shane tremendous is his overall commitment to the true roots of journalism. He never really focuses too much on the technical abilities of things. Instead, he likes to look for the storytelling involved, how well you covered the voices of your topic. I really do respect his preachings here, and his constant reminders to us that our stories really do matter.

Sometimes, it’s hard to believe your stories can actually make a difference in someone’s life. But, with Shane’s encouragement and teaching, I certainly learned that this was not the case. By completing my final project on Special Olympics, and seeing the reactions to the product, I can safely say those folks enjoyed my work.

I couldn’t be more proud of what I accomplished in this course, especially with that wonderful organization. I was truly blessed to be in the section I was in, as well as to have an instructor as great as Shane was. The journalism school needs more like him.

But for now, I am done with multimedia (academically of course). It’s been a blast, and I’ll continue to work to become a better storyteller.

Leave a Reply

